Article Image Alt Text

Installed as the new Abbeville Lions Club officers for the 2017-2018 year include (front row) Elaine Hebert - 1st Vice President; Bernice Hebert - Board Member; Lenis Hebert - 3rd Vice President (second row) Norma Theall - 2nd Vice District Governor; Christine Sonnier - Treasurer; Felecia Gaspard - Board Member; Maxine Hardy - Secretary; Jeffrey Cessac -Board Member (back row) Roy Credeur - First Vice District Governor; William Arceneaux - District Governor; Brent Sonnier - President; Mike Russo - Tail Twister and Jeffrey Faulk -2nd Vice Governor and Kevin Miller - Lion Tamer.

Abbeville Lions Club installs 2017-2018 officers

Article Image Alt Text

From L-R: Junior Auxiliary of Abbeville recently selected the following Officers and Chairman for the 2017-2018 year to provide leadership and carryout the mission of the organization: Shelly Libersat, Ex- Officio; Megan Landry-Lalande, Assistant Treasurer & Public Relations Chairman; Hollie Nelms, President; Tara Duplantis, Vice President & Provisional Trainer; Tanya Istre, Treasurer; Jamie Hebert, Membership Chairman. Not pictured: Donna Touchet, Secretary; RaeLynn Klein, Education Chairman.

Junior Auxiliary of Abbeville introduces officers, board members

Junior Auxiliary of Abbeville (JA of Abbeville) recently selected Officers and appointed Chairman to complete their Executive Board for the 2017–2018 year. These ladies will provide leadership to the Chapter and ensure it fulfills all obligations and endeavors to our national organization as well as children and families in Vermilion Parish.

Article Image Alt Text

Doctor Claire Amy Schultz

Former Abbeville resident earns PhD from Mercer University

Atlanta, GA- Claire Amy Schultz, formerly of Abbeville and now of Macon, Georgia, graduated with a Doctor of Philosophy Degree in Curriculum and Instruction from the Tift College of Education at Mercer University during a commencement ceremony held on May 6, 2017 in Atlanta, Georgia.
The Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction program is designed to prepare transforming curriculum and instructional leaders for local, state, and national levels. The program focuses on societal changes that are placing an ever-increasing emphasis upon the evolving role of the professional educator.

Article Image Alt Text

JA of Abbeville is grateful to provide service to the children of Vermilion Parish and appreciates the continuous support of the community and the hard work of its members.

Article Image Alt Text

President Shelly Libersat (center) recognizes associate members Liz Perry and Rita Broussard with appreciation for their many year of service to the Chapter and the children of Vermilion Parish. “They are truly jewels in our JA crown” states chapter members.

JA of Abbeville celebrates successful year of service to community

Junior Auxiliary of Abbeville (JA of Abbeville) held their end of the year social on Friday, May 12, 2017. The event was hosted by new Associate Member Megan Landry-Lalande and Outgoing President Shelly Libersat at the home of Mrs. Dorothy Collins.
Members gathered to celebrate accomplishments of the 2016-2017 JA year and to recognize members for their hard work and dedication.
The chapter honored the outgoing executive board, new associate members, inducted new active members and recognized several associate members who make their chapter shine.

Article Image Alt Text

The classmates of the Abbeville High School class of 1960, along with their spouses and guests, recently enjoyed the annual get together at the beautiful home of Carroll and Rexine Sellers in New Iberia. Members attending were (sitting) Midge Weekly Duhon, Carroll Sellers, Barbara Gayle Primeaux LeMaire, Flo Miller Arnold, Laurie Lee Broussard Domingue, Jane Ellen Bourque Broussard, Trina LeBouef Broussard(in front of Jane Ellen), Mathilde “Teal” Boudreaux St. Marie, Joycelyn Daspit Fontenot (standing) Janice Ledet Choate, Frances Gisclair Bercier, Judy Schexnader Hadly, Connie LeBouef Breaux, Brenda Roy Duhon, Mary Nell LeBlanc Delcambre, Janell Simon LeMaire, Flo Bandeaux Romero, Pat DeHart Dupuy, Gloria Peltier Ramke, Judy Flory Gouterrez, Nona Belle Faulk Griffin, Laura Mae Broussard David, Frances Thibodeaux Landry, (second to last row) Kendall Broussard, Bradley Baudoin, DelRay LeMaire, Nedly Leger, Louis “Duke” Durke, Gerald Cessac, Lynn Broussard, A.W. “Butch” Landry, Lloyd Cox (last row) Jeffrey Domingue, Doug Romero, Knox Bergeron, James “Paw Paw” Kitchell. If you or your deceased spouse were a member of the class of ‘60, and you would like to be included in this annual event, please call 337-652-6101.

AHS class of 1960



Vermilion Today

Abbeville Meridional

318 N. Main St.
Abbeville, LA 70510
Phone: 337-893-4223
Fax: 337-898-9022

The Kaplan Herald

219 North Cushing Avenue
Kaplan, LA 70548

The Gueydan Journal

311 Main Street
Gueydan, LA 70542