Article Image Alt Text

Dozier Elementary faculty and staff members are proudly standing with their new school “Loud and Proud” sign designating them as an “A” school for the third year in a row. The school performance score was 111 this year with a gain of 3.6 points.

Loud and Proud

Birth announcements

Tylor James Laviolette
A son, Tylor James Laviolette was born Monday, September 18, 2017, at Abbeville General to Bailey Cheyenne Laviolette of Abbeville.

Rodney Paul Rice, Jr.
A son Rodney Paul Rice Jr., was born Tuesday, September 19, 2107, at Abbeville General Hospital to Shalaca Alicia Broussard and Rodney Paul Rice, Sr. of Abbeville.

Article Image Alt Text
Article Image Alt Text

Couple celebrates golden wedding anniversary

Sherry Viator Barras and William A. Barras Ill recently celebrated their golden wedding anniversary.
Sherry and Billy were married on July 15, 1967, at St. Mary Magdalen Catholic Church by Father Donald Theriot.
On July 16, 2017, they renewed their marriage vows after 11 a.m. Mass at St. Mary Magdalen Catholic Church with Father Louis Richard officiating.
They are the parents of three sons, Kerry, Randy, and Brady Barras. They have six grandchildren

Article Image Alt Text

Installed as the new Abbeville Lions Club officers for the 2017-2018 year include (front row) Elaine Hebert - 1st Vice President; Bernice Hebert - Board Member; Lenis Hebert - 3rd Vice President (second row) Norma Theall - 2nd Vice District Governor; Christine Sonnier - Treasurer; Felecia Gaspard - Board Member; Maxine Hardy - Secretary; Jeffrey Cessac -Board Member (back row) Roy Credeur - First Vice District Governor; William Arceneaux - District Governor; Brent Sonnier - President; Mike Russo - Tail Twister and Jeffrey Faulk -2nd Vice Governor and Kevin Miller - Lion Tamer.

Abbeville Lions Club installs 2017-2018 officers

Article Image Alt Text

From L-R: Junior Auxiliary of Abbeville recently selected the following Officers and Chairman for the 2017-2018 year to provide leadership and carryout the mission of the organization: Shelly Libersat, Ex- Officio; Megan Landry-Lalande, Assistant Treasurer & Public Relations Chairman; Hollie Nelms, President; Tara Duplantis, Vice President & Provisional Trainer; Tanya Istre, Treasurer; Jamie Hebert, Membership Chairman. Not pictured: Donna Touchet, Secretary; RaeLynn Klein, Education Chairman.

Junior Auxiliary of Abbeville introduces officers, board members

Junior Auxiliary of Abbeville (JA of Abbeville) recently selected Officers and appointed Chairman to complete their Executive Board for the 2017–2018 year. These ladies will provide leadership to the Chapter and ensure it fulfills all obligations and endeavors to our national organization as well as children and families in Vermilion Parish.



Vermilion Today

Abbeville Meridional

318 N. Main St.
Abbeville, LA 70510
Phone: 337-893-4223
Fax: 337-898-9022

The Kaplan Herald

219 North Cushing Avenue
Kaplan, LA 70548

The Gueydan Journal

311 Main Street
Gueydan, LA 70542